Frank Tarasi Award

Every year the Iowa Division of the International Association for Identification nominate one member who has made a difference in the field of forensics. These members dedicate their knowledge, resources and time to making the Iowa IAI a success.


Carl Bessman – Carl is a retired Criminalist from the DCI Lab after serving 28 years as a crime scene tech, latent print/footwear/tire track examiner, and firearm/tool mark examiner.  Carl has been an active  Iowa IAI member for over 20 years and has served in various positions including past president, board member and Instructor.  We thank you for everything you have done for the Iowa IAI to make it such a success!


Petersen 10print card Petersen Award

Steve Petersen – Steve has been a dedicated  member of the Iowa IAI since 1979. Steve is a long-time instructor for the basic and advanced Crime Scene class and is often the first one to arrive and the last one to leave. We thank you for all of the time and hard-work you have contributed over the years!


Tordoff Award
Ron Tordof – Ron has been a valuable member of the Iowa IAI since 1998. He has served on several boards and committees and is an instructor for the Crime Scene classes. Thank you Ron for all of your hard work and dedication!

 Conference Awards

Iowa IAI Conference Fee: All current members are automatically included in drawing that is held at our Annual Conference. The winner receives (1) free conference registration* to the following years Iowa IAI Conference.

International Association for Identification Conference Fee: All Iowa IAI members in attendance at the conference are automatically included in a drawing. The IAI will pay the winners receives registration fee* to the International Association for Identification Annual Conference.

* Travel/hotel/meal/additional workshop fees are not included. No cash value.